15 NJ celebrities you’d never guess had naturally curly hair

Celebrity activist Susan Sarandon arrives at the 'Changing Destiny Awards' and '50 Celebrate 50 Gala' February 20, 2002 in New York City. The gala benefits Help a Parent, Save a Child, a non-profit dedicated to helping children and young families as they struggle to break the cycle of poverty. Lawrence Lucier/Getty Images

When it comes to celebrities in Hollywood, straight hair rules, which is why it will probably surprise you to find out a lot of your favorite entertainers were born with naturally curly locks.

With the resurgence of the natural hair movement and women taking pride in the beauty of their hair’s pure state (minus the flat irons) plus summer (who wants to stress under a hot blow dryer when it is 90 degrees?) OMJ thought it would be a great idea to celebrate the ladies and gentlemen who once (and those who still do) live by the motto: “curly hair, don’t care.”

This list highlights some of New Jersey born and bred stars who we’d love to see flaunt their luxurious locks on the red carpet more often. Prepare to get your mind blown below:

giphyCurly

Jordin Sparks

#TBT 2nd grade. Omg I love this picture! My haaaaair! I loved smiling & taking pictures even then.❤️

A photo posted by Jordin Sparks (@jordinsparks) on

Nick Jonas

#tbt When you're 13… hanging with your first crush and you're trying to play it cool. #wheresmydeodorant

A photo posted by Nick Jonas (@nickjonas) on

#nickjonas #camprock #hannahmontana #jonasbrothers #camprock2

A photo posted by DISNEY ANTES Y DESPUES 2016 (@disneyantesydespues) on

(Did we mention his brothers Joe Jonas and Kevin Jonas also rocked curls?)

Anne Hathaway

#tbt to that time I used all the makeup.

A photo posted by Anne Hathaway (@annehathaway) on

Christina Milian

#BeautyConLA wearing @WeArePopCulture

A photo posted by Christina Milian (@christinamilian) on

Rocking my #CurlyHair today.. #Paris is all grown up.. ❤️

A photo posted by Christina Milian (@christinamilian) on

Alicia Keys

Current mood ???????????? How are you feeling today?

A photo posted by Alicia Keys (@aliciakeys) on

Teresa Giudice

Happy Birthday to my love Joe ????????❤️

A photo posted by Teresa Giudice (@teresagiudice) on

Guess who is on my left with the brown hair???

A photo posted by Teresa Giudice (@teresagiudice) on

(And yes that is Dina Manzo on her left with brown hair!)

Daisy Fuentes

#curlyhair #dontcare #summervibes

A photo posted by DAISY (@daisyfuentes) on

#puertorico #coqui

A photo posted by DAISY (@daisyfuentes) on

Halsey

????????????????????

A photo posted by halsey (@iamhalsey) on

????

A photo posted by halsey (@iamhalsey) on

Whitney Houston

Beautiful Whitney????#whitneyhouston Also follow @sanaalathan_fanatic ????

A photo posted by Whitney Houston (@xwhitneyhouston) on

I love this picture so much????????#whitneyhouston

A photo posted by Whitney Houston (@xwhitneyhouston) on

Ashley Tisdale

Kill me now? ???? #ashleytisdale

A photo posted by Ashley Tisdale ❤️ (@ashleytisdaledaily) on

Zoe Saldana

#tbt Zoe as Maggie in the film "Get Over It" (#repost @zoefanatic)

A photo posted by Zoe Saldana (@zoesaldanastan) on

"Rocking the ‪#‎MinnieMouse‬ today! ‪#‎manicmondays‬ ‪#‎LivebyNight‬ ‪#‎workingmom‬ " – Zoe #zoesaldana

A photo posted by Zoe Saldana Fan Page (@zoesaldanafanp) on

Lauryn Hill

Queeeeeeeeen #LaurynHill

A photo posted by Chloe Campbell (@chloemaycampbell) on

Michelle Rodriguez

#WCW #MichelleRodriguez

A photo posted by Michelle Rodriguez (@maytemichellerod) on

"You don't turn your back on family even when they do" -Dom #michellerodriguez #MRod #fastsix #fast6 #fastandfurious #letty #lettylives

A photo posted by Michelle Rodriguez (@michellerodriguez_fansite) on

Susan Sarandon

Pretty Baby #TBT

A photo posted by Susan Sarandon (@susansarandon) on

SZA

Missing her

A photo posted by SZA (@justsza) on

Tbt See u soon

A photo posted by SZA (@justsza) on